Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie Series in Order

Kate Atkinson quickly became a favorite author of mine with her expansive writing, from her genre-mixed Life After Life to her historical spy novel Transcription. And a gal after my heart, Atkinson has a fantastic P.I. series, too.

The Jackson Brodie series is a must-read for fans of British novels, P.I.s, dark humor, multiple mysteries, character studies, and unique novels that refuse to neatly fit into a genre box. You currently have five novels worthy of a great marathon read, and each has an audiobook if you like British narrators in your ears. Let’s check out Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie books in order!

 

If you’re looking for a unique British P.I. series consistent in its exploration of people’s behavior—from quirks to evils—starring a lovable hero who attracts all sorts, Kate Atkinson’s series will keep you entertained for a long while.

 

About Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson was born in York and now lives in Edinburgh. She won the Whitbread (now Costa) Book of the Year prize with her first novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum. Her four bestselling novels featuring former detective Jackson Brodie became the BBC television series Case Histories, starring Jason Isaacs. Her last novel, Life After Life, was the winner of the Costa Novel Award and the South Bank Sky Arts Literature Prize and was shortlisted for the Women’s Prize. It was also voted Book of the Year for the independent booksellers’ associations on both sides of the Atlantic. Her new novel, A God in Ruins, is a companion to Life After Life, although the two novels can be read independently. She was appointed MBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours List and was voted Waterstones UK Author of the Year at the 2013 Specsavers National Book Awards.

 

Jamie Canavés is a Book Riot contributing editor and Tailored Book Recommendations coordinator who always has a book in one hand. She writes the Unusual Suspects mystery newsletter, never says no to chocolate or ‘80s nostalgia, and spends way too much time asking her goat-dog “What’s in your mouth?!” Tweets: @Oh_Dinky.