Emmett

Contributors

By L. C. Rosen

Formats and Prices

Price

$18.99

Price

$23.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around November 7, 2023. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

★ “A smoothly written, highly readable—no, make that irresistible romance…There is not a false note in this expert effort, and Emmett is a character to treasure.” –Booklist, starred review

★ "An optimistic read that explores identity and provides models of healthy relationships, sex, and love… a sensitive and affirming adaptation." –Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "Rosen aptly carries [Jane] Austen’s torch, delivering comparably witty banter and keen social commentary… Delightfully queer and downright swoonworthy." –Kirkus, starred review

A modern-day gay Emma, with the spikey social critique of Austen plus the lush over-the-top romance of Bridgerton.


Emmett Woodhouse, handsome, clever and rich, with a comfortable home and happy disposition seemed to unite some of the best blessings of existence and had lived nearly eighteen years in the world with very little to distress or vex him.
 
Emmett knows he’s blessed. And because of that, he tries to give back: from charity work to letting the often irritating Georgia sit at his table at lunch, he knows it’s important to be nice. And recently, he’s found a new way of giving back: matchmaking. He set up his best friend Taylor with her new boyfriend and it’s gone perfectly. So when his occasional friend-with-benefits Harrison starts saying he wants a boyfriend (something Emmett definitely does NOT want to be), he decides to try and find Harrison the perfect man at Highbury Academy. 
 
Emmett’s childhood friend, Miles, thinks finding a boyfriend for a guy you sleep with is a bad idea. But Miles is straight, and Emmett says this is gay life – your friends, your lovers, your boyfriends – they all come from the same very small pool. That’s why Emmett doesn’t date – to keep things clean. He knows the human brain isn’t done developing until twenty-five, so any relationship he enters into before then would inevitably end in a breakup, in loss. And he’s seen what loss can do. His mother died four years ago and his Dad hasn’t been the same since. 
 
But the lines Emmett tries to draw are more porous than he thinks, and as he tries to find Harrison the perfect match, he learns that gifted as he may be, maybe he has no idea what he’s doing when it comes to love. 
 
Modern and very gay, with a charmingly conceited lead who is convinced he knows it all, and the occasional reference to the classic movie Clueless, Emmett brings you lush romance all while exploring the complexities of queer culture—where your lovers and friends are sometimes the same person, but the person you fall in love with might be a total surprise.

Genre:

  • ★ "Rosen aptly carries [Jane] Austen’s torch, delivering comparably witty banter and keen social commentary… Delightfully queer and downright swoonworthy."
    Kirkus, starred
  • ★ “A smoothly written, highly readable—no, make that irresistible romance…There is not a false note in this expert effort, and Emmett is a character to treasure.” 
    Booklist, starred
  • ★ "An optimistic read that explores identity and provides models of healthy relationships, sex, and love… a sensitive and affirming adaptation."
    Publishers Weekly, starred
  • "A breezy, enjoyable adaptation, perfect for fans of Heartstopper."
    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
  • “Stylish, bitingly funny and buckets of fun, Emmett is a wickedly sweet romantic romp that's as addictive as your latest Netflix obsession. I’ll never forget this charming, smart and modern take on Emma. And it’s queer, too! L.C. Rosen has truly blessed us with this book.”
    Cale Dietrich, co-author of IF THIS GETS OUT
  • “Charming, romantic and gay as all get-out, Rosen's contemporary reimagining of Jane Austen's classic gives its themes a new life.”
    Erin Gough, award-winning author of Amelia Westlake Was Never Here

On Sale
Nov 7, 2023
Page Count
272 pages
ISBN-13
9780316524773

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Lev Rosen writes books for people of all ages, most recently Lavender House, which the New York Times says “movingly explores the strain of trying to pass as straight at a time when living an authentic life could be deadly” and was a Best Book of the Year from Buzzfeed, Library Journal, Amazon, Bookpage, and others. His prior novel, Camp, was a best book of the year from Forbes, Elle, and The Today Show. His next book, Lion’s Legacy will be released in May, The Bell in the Fog in October and Emmett in November. He lives in NYC with his husband and a very small cat. You can find him online at LevACRosen.com and @LevACRosen.

Peek the Audiobook

From NOVL Nation

“This book melted my heart- it was sweet, funny, and didn’t shy away from the realities of mental health and sexuality. It was the perfect blend of romance and serious undertones, and I adored Emmett and his growth!”

–Briana, Briana’s Book Nook

“This was an overall really charming read about relationships, missteps, and what makes people click… Emmett is a charming character that is easy to empathize with and understand, even if he seems willfully oblivious at times.”

–Olivia, onemused

Fan Playlist

#EmmettBook

L. C. Rosen

About the Author

Lev Rosen writes books for people of all ages, including the Evander Mills series, which began with the Macavity Award winning Lavender House (Anthony finalist, Lambda finalist, Best Book of the Year from Buzzfeed, Library Journal, Amazon, Bookpage, and others) and continued with The Bell in the Fog, (Publisher’s Weekly Editor’s Choice, Best Book of the year from Amazon, CrimeReads and Autostraddle). His most recent YA novels are Emmett (Best Book of the year from Kirkus and Amazon), Lion’s Legacy (Best Book of the year from Booklist and the New York Public Library) and Camp (Best Book of the year from Forbes, Elle, and The Today Show and others). The third Evander Mills mystery, Rough Pages, will be out in fall 2024. He lives in NYC with his husband and a very small cat. You can find him online at LevACRosen.com and @LevACRosen

Learn more about this author