Swallow the Ghost

A Novel

Coming Soon

Contributors

By Eugenie Montague

Formats and Prices

Price

$29.00

Price

$38.00 CAD

Swallow the Ghost traces the impact of one event on three different lives, each interlocking story offering a complex, contradictory truth.

Things are going well for Jane Murphy, or so it seems. She’s making it in New York, a sort of wunderkind at the social media marketing startup where she works. She’s put an experimental writer, Jeremy Miller, on the map by helping him concoct a viral internet novel, told in fragments through various fake social media accounts. But privately, Jane feels trapped, ruled by her routines and her compulsions, caught up in an endless cycle of soothing and punishing herself. There is so much that she has to keep hidden, especially from Jeremy as their professional relationship transforms into something more.

But then, tragedy strikes, and the story changes track. As the perspective shifts, so too does our image of Jane and those in her orbit as what we think we know begins to unravel.

Audacious, emotionally precise and head-spinning in its ingenuity, Swallow the Ghost interrogates our public identities and private realities through the kaleidoscopic portrait of one woman's life.

 

Genre:

  • "Swallow the Ghost is part murder mystery, part philosophical treatise, part head-trip, but all of it is a sheer pleasure to read. It takes the tropes and conventions of a conventional thriller and turns them on their heads. An impressive and wicked debut by Eugenie Montague."
    Peter Swanson, New York Times bestselling author of Eight Perfect Murders
  • "At the heart of this unconventional murder mystery lies the enigma of the self: who we are, what drives us, and why we harm ourselves and others. Fans of Ottessa Moshfegh and Susan Choi will love its viscerality and structural inventiveness, while its twists and turns will thrill readers of Tana French and Rebecca Makkai. A truly surprising and original debut."
    J. Robert Lennon, author of Hard Girls and Broken River
  • "Swallow the Ghost is bold, breathtaking, and utterly original. Eugenie Montague walks her narrative tightrope fearlessly, delivering a story that is at once a wickedly clever mystery, a thoughtful study of identity in the modern age, and a meditation on the power of narratives."
    Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author

On Sale
Aug 20, 2024
Page Count
320 pages
Publisher
Mulholland Books
ISBN-13
9780316568067

Eugenie Montague

About the Author

Eugenie Montague received her MFA in fiction from the University of California, Irvine. Her short fiction has been published by NPR, Mid-American Review, Faultline, Fiction Southeast, Amazon and Flash Friday, a flash-fiction series from Tin House and the Guardian Books Network, and was selected by Amy Hempel for The Best Small Fictions (2017). She currently lives in El Paso, Texas with her family.

Learn more about this author