The Killing Code

Contributors

By Ellie Marney

Formats and Prices

Price

$8.99

Price

$11.99 CAD

This item is a preorder. Your payment method will be charged immediately, and the product is expected to ship on or around September 20, 2022. This date is subject to change due to shipping delays beyond our control.

A historical mystery about a girl who risks everything to track down a vicious serial killerfor fans of The Enigma Game and Last Night at the Telegraph Club.

Virginia, 1943: World War II is raging in Europe and on the Pacific front when Kit Sutherland is recruited to help the war effort as a codebreaker at Arlington Hall, a former girls’ college now serving as the site of a secret US Signal Intelligence facility. But Kit is soon involved in another kind of fight: government girls are being brutally murdered in Washington DC, and when Kit stumbles onto a bloody homicide scene, she is drawn into the hunt for the killer.
 
To find the man responsible for the gruesome murders and bring him to justice, Kit joins forces with other female codebreakers at Arlington Hall—gossip queen Dottie Crockford, sharp-tongued intelligence maven Moya Kershaw, and cleverly resourceful Violet DuLac from the segregated codebreaking unit. But as the girls begin to work together and develop friendships—and romance—that they never expected, two things begin to come clear: the murderer they’re hunting is closing in on them…and Kit is hiding a dangerous secret.

Genre:

  • “A nifty whodunit, a strong focus on friendship, and an empowering queer romance.”
    Kirkus Reviews
  • “An intersectional and enthralling story of largely unknown ­history mixed with engrossing crime ­mystery.”
    SLJ
  • "A fast-paced and fun historical mystery...Highly recommended"
    Booklist
  • "Marney utilizes captivating prose, an intriguing and complex premise, and a fiercely independent female cast to ably detail a little-known chapter of WWII history that ensnares the imagination and invites further exploration."
    Publishers Weekly
  • Praise for None Shall Sleep:

    "A YA Silence of the Lambs that blew me away with its daring premise, gripped me with its twists and turns, and kept me up all night until its stunning conclusion. Ellie Marney brings the serial killer thriller to YA with riveting suspense and sizzling style. Don't read this book in the dark!"
    C.S. Pacat, USA Today bestselling author of Fence
  • "The tightly plotted story moves inexorably forward with shocking twists. Vivid, chilling, and important."
    Kirkus Reviews
  • "Marney (Circus of Arts) has created a thrilling cat-and-mouse story in this taut, Silence of the Lambs-like thriller.... Marney also skillfully creates engaging and complex characters as well as a budding romance that tenderly juxtaposes the overarching plot."
    Publishers Weekly

On Sale
Sep 20, 2022
Page Count
384 pages
ISBN-13
9780316340069

About the Author

Ellie Marney is an author of crime thrillers. Her titles include the New York Times bestselling None Shall SleepThe Killing Code, White Night, the Every series and the companion novel No Limits, and the Circus Hearts series. Her books are published in ten countries, and have been optioned for television. She’s spent a lifetime researching in mortuaries, talking to autopsy specialists, and asking former spies about how to make explosives from household items, and now she lives quite sedately in southeastern Australia with her family.

Peek the Audiobook

From NOVL Nation

“I loved this story that gave me The Imitation Game vibes but all female… the climax truly had me unable to put the book down.”

–Sofia, sofiasbooklist

#TheKillingCode

Ellie Marney

About the Author

Ellie Marney is an author of crime thrillers. Her titles include the New York Times bestselling None Shall SleepThe Killing Code, White Night, the Every series and the companion novel No Limits, and the Circus Hearts series. Her books are published in ten countries, and have been optioned for television. She’s spent a lifetime researching in mortuaries, talking to autopsy specialists, and asking former spies about how to make explosives from household items, and now she lives quite sedately in southeastern Australia with her family.

Learn more about this author