Category: Excerpts

The Stolen Hours by Allen Eskens

Read the Excerpt: The Stolen Hours by Allen Eskens

Read the latest excerpt from Mulholland Books The Stolen Hours by Allen Eskens, on sale September 7th.

The Pledge by Kathleen Kent

Read the Excerpt: The Pledge by Kathleen Kent

Kathleen Kent continues her thrilling Betty Rhyzyk series with The Pledge, the grand finale of the Edgar-nominated trilogy of a crime-fighting female detective.

The Jailhouse Lawyer by James Patterson

Read the Excerpt: The Jailhouse Lawyer by James Patterson

James Patterson is back with a new legal thriller sure to please long-term fans. Read an excerpt from The Jailhouse Lawyer by James Patterson.

Film Noir Foundation_Hitchcock

Dark City: The Mistress of Suspense

When Alfred Hitchcock arrived in Hollywood in 1939, he had an ace up his sleeve, a female protégé who would become a crucial figure in noir—Joan Harrison.

Gloria Grahame and Glenn Ford in Human Desire. Photo courtesy of the Film Noir Foundation.

The Lost World of Film Noir: Hate Street

Dark City by Eddie Muller explores The Lost World of Film Noir. Read the excerpt Hate Street from Dark City.

ExcerptsTheLastGuests

Read the Excerpt: The Last Guest by JP Pomare

Author of In the Clearing is back with a new twisty psychological suspense perfect for fans of Megan Abbott. The Last Guest is on sale August 31, 2021.

InMyDreamsIHoldaKnifeExcerpt

Read the Excerpt: In My Dreams I Hold a Knife by Ashley Winstead

Told in racing dual timelines, with a dark campus setting and a darker look at friendship, love, obsession, and ambition, In My Dreams I Hold A Knife is an addictive,…

Excerpt Bloodless PrestonChild

Read the Excerpt: Bloodless by Preston & Child

Agent Pendergast faces his most unexpected challenge yet when bloodless bodies begin to appear in Savannah, GA.

ExcerptsRoversbyRichardLange

Read the Excerpt: Rovers by Richard Lange

Read the Excerpt: Rovers by Richard Lange.

Excerpt Bind Tiger by Sandra Brown_NovelSuspects

Read the Excerpt: Blind Tiger by Sandra Brown

The year 1920 comes in with a roar in this rousing and suspenseful novel by #1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown.

The Noise by James Patterson and JD Barker

Read the Excerpt: The Noise by James Patterson and J.D. Barker

If you can hear it, it’s too late. Can two sisters save us all? Read the Excerpt: The Noise by James Patterson and J.D. Barker.

ExcerptsLookWhatYouMadeMeDo

Read the Excerpt: Look What You Made Me Do by Elaine Murphy

A gripping thriller about a woman who must help cover the tracks of her serial killer sister — only to discover her sibling isn't the only serial killer in town.

Surprise Me!